ANZAC Day: A state-by-state guide to 2022 trading hours


ANZAC Day. Source: Splash.

ANZAC Day is fast approaching on Monday, April 25, bringing with it a range of trading restrictions and public holidays across the states.

If you’re confused about whether ANZAC Day is considered a public holiday in all states and territories, and whether you can trade without restrictions, we’ve made a quick state-by-state guide.


In Victoria, as with all other states and territories, ANZAC Day is observed as a public holiday, which means Victorians will get a second long weekend after Easter this year.

Stores in Victoria are only permitted to trade after 1pm on Monday, April 25, unless the store falls into one of Victoria’s ‘exempt’ categories.

Luckily, a number of SMEs do fall into the exempt category, as the state classifies an exempt store as having 20 or fewer employees working at any one time during the restricted trading day, and one that has no more than 100 employees working at any time in the seven days prior to ANZAC Day.

Additionally, chemists, petrol shops, restaurants, cafes, takeaway outlets, service providers and hire outlets can trade unrestricted on ANZAC Day.

However, for anyone considering a late-night movie or concert the night before, bear in mind all cinemas and entertainment venues must close by 12am on ANZAC Day.

New South Wales

New South Wales follows the same general rules as Victoria, preventing businesses from trading before 1pm on April 25.

The state’s exemptions for small business are stipulated in the Retail Trading Act, which permits any small shop with fewer than four employees working on the day, and no more than two owners sharing in the shop’s profits, to trade before 1pm.

The Retail Trading Act also includes a list of 18 types of small businesses, such as bakeries, pet stores, and restaurants, that are exempt from the morning trading restrictions.

Other businesses exempt from trade restrictions include supermarkets, businesses that hold a hotel or small bar licence, and businesses in local government areas.


In Queensland, businesses must belong to one of two categories if they wish to trade on Monday, April 25: exempt shops or independent shops.

Exempt shops, which can trade all day, include a range of businesses from antique to fish shops. The full list is available on this Queensland government’s website.

Independent shops are categorised as being run by an individual, partnership or a proprietary company, having no more than 30 employees engaged in the store at any one time, having no more than 100 employees working across Queensland at any given time, and the business must not conducted within a non-exempt shop.

Independent shops can only trade after 1pm on ANZAC Day.

If your business doesn’t fall under either category, you are required to remain closed all day.


The ACT will observes ANZAC Day on Monday, April 25, however, businesses can open all day on ANZAC Day without any restrictions.

Northern Territory

The Northern Territory follows the same rules as the ACT, meaning that businesses can trade unrestricted on ANZAC Day.

Western Australia

In Western Australia, businesses must close on ANZAC Day, unless they fall into an exempt category. To be exempt, your business must have a certificate deeming it as a small or special retail shop, which is generally one considered essential for emergency, convenience or recreation goods.

These include stores such as pharmacies, newsagents, duty-free shops and arts-and-crafts stores.

Other exempt businesses include restaurants, cafes, petrol stations and takeaway-food shops.

The full list of exempt stores is available on this government website.


Businesses in Tasmania cannot open before 12.30pm on ANZAC Day unless they are considered an exempt business.

Pharmacies, newsagents, bottle shops, cafes and restaurants, service stations, car yards and real estate agents are all considered exempt from trading restrictions. Shops that are are part of a large shopping complex and had fewer than 10 employees employed in the month of March are also exempt.

South Australia

South Australia will commemorate ANZAC Day with a public holiday on Monday, April 25.

Trading restrictions on the day depend on the location of businesses and if they fall into this list of 25 categories of exempt businesses.

Non-exempt shops in the CBD and stores that fall into the hardware category can trade between 12pm and 5pm on ANZAC Day. Businesses in the metropolitan shopping district and Glenelg tourist precinct must close, along with those in other proclaimed districts.

This is an updated version of an article that was first published in April 2021


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
SmartCompany Plus

Sign in

To connect a sign in method the email must match the one on your SmartCompany Plus account.
Or use your email
Forgot your password?

Want some assistance?

Contact us on: or call the hotline: +61 (03) 8623 9900.