Labor MP Julie Collins appointed Minister for Small Business in Anthony Albanese’s brand new cabinet

small business

Source: Lukas Coch / AAP Image

Veteran Labor MP Julie Collins has been appointed as the new Minister for Small Business, joining the ranks of Prime Minister Anthony Albanese’s brand new cabinet.

Albanese revealed the makeup of his frontbench Tuesday evening, one week after declaring federal election victory. The result: a frontbench with extensive experience, including cabinet credentials from the Labor government of Kevin Rudd.

Collins is among that number, having occupied the community services, indigenous employment and economic development, housing and homelessness, and status of women portfolios in the Rudd government.

The Member for Franklin will now oversee the Housing and Homelessness portfolios from within Albanese’s cabinet, along with the new addition of Small Business.

Those appointments are an “immense privilege”, Collins posted on social media after the ministry list was revealed.

Collins takes over the portfolio from former minister for employment, workforce, skills, small and family business Stuart Robert.

Packaging the Small Business portfolio with the Housing and Homelessness ministries suggests a new pathway for SME issues within Albanese’s cabinet, as the small business remit is traditionally tied to skills and employment.

MP Tony Burke was appointed Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations, after occupying the industrial relations portfolio from the shadow ministry.

MP Brendan O’Connor — who served as minister for small business in 2012, and in employment-focused portfolios during Labor’s recent years in opposition — was tapped to become Albanese’s Minister for Skills and Training.

MP Ed Husic was appointed Minister for Industry and Science, after more than a year of service as shadow minister for industry and innovation, and an earlier stint as shadow minister for the digital economy.

In opposition, Husic was recognised as a go-to parliamentary advocate for the Australian tech and startup sector.

Other key positions in Labor’s cabinet were foreshadowed last Monday, as Albanese’s swearing in coincided with the appointment of an interim ministry.

MP Jim Chalmers became federal Treasurer, after occupying the top economic role within Labor’s shadow ministry.

Chalmers is set to deliver Labor’s economic statement after Parliament returns on July 26, and Labor’s federal budget in October, paving over the 2022-23 economic plans laid by the Coalition in March.

Deputy Prime Minister Richard Marles was appointed as the interim Minister for Employment, progressing from his former role as shadow minister for national reconstruction, employment, skills and small business.

Marles now occupies the Defence portfolio in Albanese’s finalised cabinet.

Senator Katy Gallagher was appointed the role of Minister for Finance and Minister for Women.

Her interim appointment as attorney-general has come to an end, with MP Mark Dreyfuss to occupy the role as Australia’s top legal officer.

Senator Penny Wong was also appointed Minister for Foreign Affairs.

The full swearing in ceremony for Labor’s new cabinet commenced Wednesday morning.

The full rundown can be found below.


The Hon. Anthony Albanese MP: Prime Minister
The Hon. Richard Marles MP: Deputy Prime Minister, Minister for Defence
Senator the Hon. Penny Wong: Minister for Foreign Affairs
The Hon. Dr Jim Chalmers MP: Treasurer
Senator the Hon. Katy Gallagher: Minister for Finance, Minister for the Public Service, Minister for Women
Senator the Hon. Don Farrell: Minister for Trade and Tourism, Special Minister of State
The Hon. Tony Burke MP: Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations, Minister for the Arts
The Hon. Mark Butler MP: Minister for Health and Aged Care
The Hon. Chris Bowen MP: Minister for Climate Change and Energy
The Hon. Tanya Plibersek MP: Minister for the Environment and Water
The Hon. Catherine King MP: Minister for Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government
The Hon. Linda Burney MP: Minister for Indigenous Australians
The Hon. Amanda Rishworth MP: Minister for Social Services
The Hon. Bill Shorten MP: Minister for the National Disability Insurance Scheme, Minister for Government Services
The Hon. Mark Dreyfus QC MP: Attorney-General, Cabinet Secretary
The Hon. Brendan O’Connor MP: Minister for Skills and Training
The Hon. Jason Clare MP: Minister for Education
The Hon. Julie Collins MP: Minister for Housing, Minister for Homelessness, Minister for Small Business
Michelle Rowland MP: Minister for Communications
Madeleine King MP: Minister for Resources, Minister for Northern Australia
Senator Murray Watt: Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry, Minister for Emergency Management
Ed Husic MP: Minister for Industry and Science
Clare O’Neil MP: Minister for Home Affairs, Minister for Cyber Security

Outer Ministry

Matt Keogh MP: Minister for Veterans’ Affairs, Minister for Defence Personnel
Pat Conroy MP: Minister for Defence Industry, Minister for International Development and the Pacific
Stephen Jones MP: Assistant Treasurer, Minister for Financial Services
Andrew Giles MP: Minister for Immigration, Citizenship and Multicultural Affairs
Anne Aly MP: Minister for Early Childhood Education, Minister for Youth
Anika Wells MP: Minister for Aged Care, Minister for Sport
Kristy McBain MP: Minister for Regional Development, Local Government and Territories

Assistant Ministers

The Hon. Justine Elliot MP: Assistant Minister for Social Services, Assistant Minister for the Prevention of Family Violence
The Hon. Matt Thistlethwaite MP: Assistant Minister for Defence, Assistant Minister for Veterans’ Affairs, Assistant Minister for the Republic
The Hon. Dr Andrew Leigh MP: Assistant Minister for Competition, Charities and Treasury
Patrick Gorman MP: Assistant Minister to the Prime Minister
Senator Jenny McAllister: Assistant Minister for Climate Change and Energy
Senator Carol Brown: Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Transport
Ged Kearney MP: Assistant Minister for Health and Aged Care
Emma McBride MP: Assistant Minister for Mental Health, Assistant Minister for Rural and Regional Health
Senator Malarndirri McCarthy: Assistant Minister for Indigenous Australians, Assistant Minister for Indigenous Health
Senator Tim Ayres: Assistant Minister for Trade, Assistant Minister for Manufacturing
Senator Anthony Chisholm: Assistant Minister for Education, Assistant Minister for Regional Development
Tim Watts MP: Assistant Minister for Foreign Affairs


Notify of
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
ur mum
ur mum
25 days ago

i am the first comment i love

Ur dad
Ur dad
25 days ago
Reply to  ur mum

Omg seconddddd

ur mum
ur mum
25 days ago
Reply to  Ur dad

oh i am so proud bby!!!!

Ur dad
Ur dad
25 days ago

what are Julie collins responsibilities

ur mum
ur mum
25 days ago

what are julie colin’s jobs and responsibilities??

Ur dad
Ur dad
25 days ago
Reply to  ur mum

Ur mum

SmartCompany Plus

Sign in

To connect a sign in method the email must match the one on your SmartCompany Plus account.
Or use your email
Forgot your password?

Want some assistance?

Contact us on: or call the hotline: +61 (03) 8623 9900.