Facebook is a great tool, especially for businesses, but there may come a time where you need to delete your account permanently for any number of reasons.
While this may seem like a daunting task, Facebook actually has the capability to delete your account entirely.
What will the election mean to you?
Sign up to our free newsletter, including this weekend’s coverage of the election.
First, you should make sure that if you’re using your Facebook page for any business purposes, that any links pointing to that page are taken down. While this isn’t essential, it’s best that you don’t leave dead links all over the internet.
First, you need to go to this page on the Facebook site. After reading the initial text there, click on “submit”. After following the instructions, your account will be deleted forever.
Alternatively, you can just deactivate your account. This means that while your page will not be accessible to users, if you at some point decide you want to come back you can reactivate your page and it will appear just the way it was.
To deactivate your account, click on the “account” link at the top-right hand of the page. Under the security tab, you will see a link titled “deactivate my account”. Click on that and follow the prompts.
To reactivate, simply login to Facebook with your old username and password.