How to undo sending an email

Have you ever accidentally hit send on an email, only to realise a split second later that you forgot to attach a file, sent it to the wrong person, or didn’t finish typing what you were saying? Wish you could undo it?

 

If you use Gmail you can – and here’s how.

 

First, you’ll need to go into the settings menu. Along the top, one of the links should say “Labs”. Click this link.

 

Each of the options on this page is a new feature currently being developed in Google Labs. Scroll down until you see a heading called “Undo Send”.

 

Immediately to the right should be two options: Enabled and disabled. Click the button next to enabled, and then scroll down to the bottom and click save.

 

Now when you click send, Gmail will hold your email messages for a couple of seconds after you click send.

 

When you click send, the normal “Your message has been sent message” will have a new link next to it: “Undo send”.

 

The next time you accidentally hit send, just click this “Undo Send” link within a couple of seconds, and Gmail will undo sending your email.

Trending

COMMENTS

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments