Reset most Firefox settings – without losing your bookmarks or passwords

From time to time, the performance of an app or program might deteriorate to the point you need to reinstall it. If this happens in Firefox, there’s a simple way to reset most of the configuration files while at the same time keeping your bookmarks and saved passwords. Here’s how to do it.

 

First, get to Troubleshooting Information screen. If, for whatever reason, you can’t see the Help menu, you can also get to it by entering “about:support” as a URL.

 

At the top right-hand corner of the screen, you’ll notice a box titled “Reset Firefox to its default state”. Clicking the Reset Firefox button will remove your extensions, themes, DOM storage, download history, plugin settings, toolbar customisations and other configuration files, as if you’d done a fresh installation.

 

At the same time, your bookmarks, browsing history, passwords, cookies, and web form auto-fill information will be preserved.

COMMENTS

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Close
SmartCompany Plus

Sign in

To connect a sign in method the email must match the one on your SmartCompany Plus account.
Or use your email
Show
Forgot your password?

Want some assistance?

Contact us on: support@smartcompany.com.au or call the hotline: +61 (03) 8623 9900.