NBN Co rolling out FTTN to 244,500 premises in 43 suburbs

NBN Co rolling out FTTN to 244,500 premises in 43 suburbs

The NBN Co is set to rollout the national broadband network to an additional 89,500 residential and business premises in 43 suburbs, with the new areas set to receive fibre-to-the-node connections.

FTTN utilises Telstra’s existing copper to connect the “final mile” between premises and a neighbourhood cabinet or node, into which a fibre optic cable will be connected.

Critics point out FTTN delivers slower speeds than a fibre-to-the-home rollout, which would see fibre optic cables connected directly to premises, while the government maintains a FTTN rollout will be able to be delivered faster and cheaper.

The latest rollout will see premises connected to the NBN in Lake Macquarie, the NSW Central Coast, Newcastle, Wide Bay Burnett and Greater Brisbane. The areas to be connected cover 155,000 premises in NSW and 89,500 in Queensland.

Aside from the newly announced areas, NBN Co also announced build preparation and construction work is underway to bring the NBN to a further 37,000 homes and businesses.

“This means more than 200,000 Australian homes and businesses will able to take advantage of fast and reliable broadband sooner than expected, with these areas previously not earmarked to receive the NBN in the coming 12 months,” NBN Co’s chief customer officer, John Simon, said in a statement.



Estimated premises covered

Suburbs covered**

Lake Macquarie


Belmont North, Belmont South, Belmont, Blacksmiths, Croudace Bay, Eleebana, Floraville, Jewells, Marks Point, Mount Hutton, Pelican, Tingira Heights, Valentine, Windale, Argenton, Barnsley, Boolaroo, Booragul, Cameron Park, Edgeworth, Holmesville, Killingworth, Marmong Point, Minmi, Seahampton, Speers Point, Teralba, Warners Bay, West Wallsend, Bonnells Bay, Brightwaters, Cooranbong, Dora Creek, Eraring, Mandalong, Martinsville, Mirrabooka, Morisset Park, Morisset, Silverwater, Sunshine

Central Coast


Budgewoi Peninsula, Canton Beach, Charmhaven, Gorokan, Hamlyn Terrace, Kanwal, Lake Haven, Norah Head, Toukley, Warnervale, Woongarrah, Bensville, Blackwall, Booker Bay, Box Head, Daleys Point, Davistown, Empire Bay, Ettalong Beach, Green Point, Horsfield Bay, Killcare Heights, Killcare, Kincumber, Koolewong, Patonga, Pearl Beach, Pretty Beach, Saratoga, St Huberts Island, Umina Beach, Woy Woy Bay, Woy Woy, Yattalunga, Tuggerawong, Wadalba, Wyongah, Noraville



Adamstown, Bar Beach, Broadmeadow, Carrington, Cooks Hill, Hamilton East, Hamilton South, Hamilton, Islington, Kooragang, Maryville, Merewether Heights, Merewether, Newcastle East, Newcastle West, Newcastle, The Hill, The Junction, Tighes Hill, Wickham







Estimated premises covered

Suburbs covered**

Wide Bay Burnett


Gympie, Jones Hill, Monkland, Southside, Victory Heights, Ashfield, Avenell Heights, Bundaberg Central, Bundaberg East, Bundaberg North, Bundaberg South, Bundaberg West, Gooburrum, Kalkie, Kensington, Kepnock, Millbank, Norville, Rubyanna, Svensson Heights, Thabeban, Walkervale

Greater Brisbane and Moreton Bay


Bray Park, Brendale, Cashmere, Joyner, Lawnton, Strathpine, Warner, Bellmere, Caboolture South, Caboolture, Elimbah, Moodlu, Morayfield, Upper Caboolture, Wamuran, Banksia Beach, Bellara, Bongaree, Welsby, White Patch, Woorim





Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
SmartCompany Plus

Sign in

To connect a sign in method the email must match the one on your SmartCompany Plus account.
Or use your email
Forgot your password?

Want some assistance?

Contact us on: support@smartcompany.com.au or call the hotline: +61 (03) 8623 9900.