NBN rollout: Copper phone and ADSL services in 15 communities across Australia to be switched off on May 23

The NBN Co has issued a statement saying small businesses in 15 localities across Australia will have copper phone services, ADSL and Telstra cable switched off on May 23.

The suburbs and towns affected are Armidale, Minnamurra and Kiama Downs in New South Wales; South Morang and Brunswick in Victoria; Townsville, Aitkenvale and Mundingburra in Queensland; Deloraine, George Town, Kingston Beach, Sorell, St Helens and Triabunna in Tasmania.

The NBN Co also warns other towns and suburbs are scheduled to have fixed-line services switched off over the coming months.

These include Toowoomba (August) and Aspley (September) in Queensland; Coffs Harbour (July) and Gosford (October) in New South Wales; Bacchus Marsh (October) in Victoria); Gunghalin (July) in the ACT; South Hobart (September), Midway Point, Scottsdale and Smithton (October) in Tasmania.

NBN Co notes transitions to the national broadband network aren’t automatic, and has posted maps of the affected areas on its official website, where business owners are urged contact their internet service provider to discuss their options.

SMEs using an EFTPOS terminal, fax or alarm system are asked to contact the provider of that service (for example, their security company for an alarm) in order to find out which NBN services support their device.


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
SmartCompany Plus

Sign in

To connect a sign in method the email must match the one on your SmartCompany Plus account.
Or use your email
Forgot your password?

Want some assistance?

Contact us on: support@smartcompany.com.au or call the hotline: +61 (03) 8623 9900.