Twitter has announced it is rolling out a new account feature that will allow users to block tweets from selected users appearing in their timeline without unfollowing them.
In a blog post, Twitter product manager Paul Rosania says the new feature is designed to give users more control over their user experience in Twitter.
“Muting a user on Twitter means their Tweets and Retweets will no longer be visible in your home timeline, and you will no longer receive push or SMS notifications from that user,” Rosania says.
“The muted user will still be able to fave, reply to, and retweet your Tweets; you just won’t see any of that activity in your timeline.
“The muted user will not know that you’ve muted them, and of course you can unmute at any time.”
As with the new profile design Twitter began rolling out a month ago, the new feature will receive a staggered rollout across the social network.
From Twitter’s Android, iOS or web apps, users will be able to hold down a username and select mute from the pull-down menu. Users will also be able to be muted from
The feature has generally been well received on the social network, with discussion centring around the first users will mute with the new service.
“Thanks to Twitter’s new mute feature, I can now mute the whole @verge staff,” Verge weekend editor Kwame Opam tweeted.
“[email protected] has the “Like” button to show yr appreciation. @Twitter has…? dunno, favorite (bookmark) or share (too much) or now ‘mute’?” Laurel Papworth tweeted.